Oxydendrum arboreum seed germination help needed

I've got some seed for this tree. This is one I've never tried to germinate before. I know what Dirr says about it which wasn't all that discouraging barring the fact that I don't have misters.

I found the following information here-
http://www.na.fs.fed.us/spfo/pubs/silvics_manual/Volume_2/oxydendrum/arboreum.htm

Quoting:
Techniques have been described for sourwood seed collection, storage, and germination (2,5,14). Acid sandy peat is recommended as a seedbed for sourwood. Germination is epigeal.

http://www.ibiblio.org/pfaf/cgi-bin/arr_html?Oxydendrum+arboreum&CAN=LATIND "The plant prefers light (sandy) and medium (loamy) soils and requires well-drained soil. The plant prefers acid soils and can grow in very acid soil. It can grow in semi-shade (light woodland) or no shade. It requires moist soil.[/quote] from same site [quote]Surface sow the seed in a shady place in a greenhouse either as soon as it is ripe in the autumn or in late winter. Germination is variable. Put outside in a shady position as soon as it germinates and overwinter in a frame. When they are large enough to handle, prick the seedlings out into individual pots and grow them on for at least their first winter. Plant them out into their permanent positions in late spring or early summer, after the last expected frosts. The seedlings are susceptible to damping off and so should be kept well-ventilated and should not be over-watered."

http://www.greenbeam.com/features/plant100305.stm
'Persnickety propagation
JLPN Inc. in Salem, Ore., experimented with sourwood propagation for four years before the company had a successful crop.
"It took a lot of time to have a really successful crop," said JLPN owner John Lewis. "We had several crop failures before we got it right. It's a difficult crop, but it's extremely rewarding."