Stray Peacock found our flock

Benton City, WA(Zone 6a)

Hi,
I'm new to DG and wanted to see if any of you know anything about Peacocks? We have a small flock of 20 RIR and 4 Araconas (sp) and 2 Aracona roosters. Two week ago a Peacock all the sudden appeared in our yard. He has pretty much adopted our birds. The chickens don't like him much, once in a while he will go inside the hen house and purch up in the rafters at night. If the weather get's warmer he seems to prefere the fence. He tries to show off for the hens and they just ignore him. He looks like he's been attacked by dogs or something. Many of his tail feathers are all mangled and broken. We've asked around a bit to see if anyone lost him but so far it looks like he will be ours. We know nothing about Peacocks, just wondered what you could tell me about them?

Culpeper, VA(Zone 7a)

There's a good chance that he was part of a mated pair that belonged to someone, & the female or females died.

When I lived in NY, there were a few people who kept them, & for some reason it was always the females that would pass away unexpectedly, after which the males would simply leave the premises - I'm assuming in search of female companionship. We'd frequently see the poor guys - miles away from home - perched on telephone wires. That was some sight!!

Claremore, OK(Zone 6a)

How exciting ! What a neat gift from "out of the blue". Maybe someone at DG will see your post and know where you can get him a girlie. If he was part of a pair and lost his partner, he must be terribly lonesome.

Ozark, AL(Zone 8b)