Of Ranunculus and Peonies on the coast...

Norfolk, VA

Hello! I'm a newbie to this website, (and to gardening in general) but I am excited about both endevours. I live in Norfolk VA, very near the coast. Our micri-climate is actually zone 8A. I'm interested in growing Ranunculus bulbs and Peonies, and I wonder if anyone in my area has had any luck with them, as it seems they can be a bit tricky. All of my other garden selections are heat and humid tolerant (practical). I'd love some feedback from my neighbors!

Thanks!
Amanda

Frederick, MD(Zone 6a)

Welcome Amanda :)

Oh to be in your zone! I'm sure others in the coastal areas of Virginia will jump in though!!

Nice to meet you :)

Dea

Culpeper, VA(Zone 7a)

I too am interested in trying Ranunculus, but have a feeling it's going to be as iffy as my interest in trying Freesia - lol!!!

MD &, VA(Zone 7b)

Hi Amanda!
I can't help you much since I just moved here to the peninsula, (about an hour north of you) and haven't yet put in any gardens.

I have never tried Ranunculus at the house in MD (it's on the Ches. Bay). Peonies have done very well there for me though. It's a zone 7A there, but still get the coastal mist/wind etc.

Wanted to say "hello neighbor".

Ellicott City, MD(Zone 7a)

Welcome Amanda!

Peonies grow great in the Mid-Atlantic. However, they should be planted in the Fall to get their roots established so they can provide gorgeous flowers in the Spring & Summer.

Sorry, I never grown Rannunculus either. Maybe someone else has.

Thumbnail by Shirley1md
Norfolk, VA

Thanks for the replies, it's good to hear from my neighbors!. I think I will do as suggested and try putting in a few peonies in the fall and see how it goes. The jury is still out on the ranunculus...maybe if I find a good price for a few bulbs I'll give it a try.

Baltimore, MD(Zone 7a)