This weather is unreal!

Summerville, SC(Zone 8a)

I am just sick. Tonight will be the 4th night with temps in the mid 20's here in Summerville. All of my heavily mulched tropicals, Brugmansia, Elephant Ears and Canna started to grow because of the unusually warm January. When I checked this morning, I was greeted to brown, black and flopped over new growth. I'm just sick about it.

X

Summerville, SC(Zone 8a)

Just awful out the past few days-who left the refridgerator door open??? I'm not experienced enough with the tropicals to know what this will mean. Are they lost, or just set way back? I'll have to check my few canna and elephant ears...seems to me those will recover. Some brugs apparently are more hardy than others, so you may be OK. Better days are on the way.

Jackson, SC(Zone 8a)

i know its just a bad thing but living here forever i know theres always that last freeze time before the end of feb. i tried to mulch over my stuff but to no avial either.

its disheartening.

Burlington, NC(Zone 7b)

Up here in NC - it's not wise to let your guard down until into April. Some of our worst weather happens in March. I'm sorry for your plants, and probably folks up here in milder areas may have some of the same things happen to them if this weather patten repeats itself a couple more times. We had flurries over the weekend and into the 50;s today.

Swoznick

Summerville, SC

Just when we thought we'd skate through winter without a hard freeze....sure hope last week was the end of it. Coralbean asked how the new growth dieback will affect the plants -- I'm interested, too if you have time to explain.

Looks like a lot of rain coming up..that will set my transplating back a couple of weeks.

Cathy

Summerville, SC(Zone 8a)

Hi Cathy,