Lily of the Valley

East Texas, United States(Zone 8a)

I bought was was supposed to be 8 pips at WM. To me it just looked like one matted up clump. Anyway, Can I pot it and then transplant in March/April when some green shows up? This is my first time w/ this plant. thanks for your help.

Quesnel, BC(Zone 4a)

I'm guessing that if you tease the clump apart you will find that you indeed have separate pips. You should really try to separate them, as if they are planted in a matted clump they won't do as well as if they have a bit of room.

They should be fine potted up & transplanted; lily of the valley is pretty hard to kill! They might not bloom for a year or two, though.You can plant multiple pips in a pot, just use your judgement according to how much root mass there is & how large your pot is.

When I pot these up to sell in the nursery I usually put 5 or 6 pips in each 6" pot; makes a nice clump and the whole thing can be planted out into the garden & they spread from there.

I see you're in Texas. Will lily-of-the-valley grow well for you there or does it need a winter dormant period (vernalization) in order to bloom? Something in the back of my mind reminds me that my aunt in California had a flourishing patch of non-blooming l-of-the-v and finally decided it wasn't cold enough for it.

Or maybe I'm wrong about that ...

Anyway, best of luck!

Lee's Summit, MO(Zone 6a)

This plant is very invasive. Yes, it's pretty, but contain it or it will smother out your other plants - I'm talking from experience!

Elmira, NY(Zone 6a)

It depends on the situation it is in. I had a bunch of these here in upstate NY on the north side of the house, and they did spread a lot but didn't bother any other plants.

Plymouth, MI(Zone 5b)