Help for my sandy yard - Is it hopeless?

Clementon, NJ(Zone 6b)

I live in sand. If you ever read that description of how to determine what type of soil you have - squeeze a handful - my soil just pours out of your fingers like sand in an hour glass. I have been working for two years on increasing the organic material - I compost, I shred leaves, I rob neighbors of grass clippings, I purchase mulches to retain water - and yet my soil still drains like a sieve and does not hold nutrients well. If it is disturbed - digging or tilling - it seems to get worse. It will practically blow away. This is probably because I need massive amounts of OM to get anywhere near 5%.

This year I am working a new bed and I'm really torn about tilling... The area has had a 3" mulch - shredded wood and grass clippings - resting on the surface for a year now and I am worried about pulling this back and having the beach consistency return after a brief tilling. Should I dig... not dig? And is this hopeless? I have almost an acre of land and have concentrated my efforts but I forsee being only able to keep up with the organic material I need to keep the existing beds healthy, nevermind creating new ones as was my plan.

Can I expect this to turn around? Should I make a major investment in purchasing a truckload of something that is ready to use (as opposed to something I need to compost to be usable for this spring) and if so, what? If not, as the mulches break down, the soil is improved. Should I just be more patient?

Eeek! I've never lived in soil like this. Any help, thoughts, ideas are appreciated.

Sue

Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)