Asparagus: Hybrid or Open-Pollinated?

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

I'm getting a patch ready for asparagus, and I'm having trouble finding information how a hybrid (all male?) patch like Jersey Knight performs compared to an open-pollinated one like Martha Washington. Pros and cons? More or less space needed? Does the open-pollinated one reseed and need thinning? I'm new at asparagus, so any advice is appreciated. I do know about the heavy feeding and mulching required.

Bethelridge, KY(Zone 6a)

Zeppy,

I'm starting a new bed of asparagus this year myself. I bought the hybrid Jersey Giant. I'm told hybrids will produce better (all male plants).

Plant spacing is about the same, about 8 - 12 inches in the row, rows about 4 feet apart. Open pollinated varieties will reseed and these small plants should be weeded out to insure good root growth on the parent plants.

Hope this helps.

Red

Thanks, Red. I'm looking into getting a number of Jersey Knight plants (in pots, not exactly crowns). Wonder how I should space them in my raised bed (as I don't have rows).

Bethelridge, KY(Zone 6a)

I think I would space them a foot apart each way.

Southwestern, OH(Zone 6b)

hmmm Me too, this must be the year. LOL
Here are a couple of articles I found. According to the articles, the asparagus will grow for 15 years without being re-planted, so make sure where you put it is where you want it for a long time. :-)

Again, according to the article, you are better off planting something like Jersey Giant instead of Martha Washington, as the all male hybrids don't produce seeds taking energy away from the plant. It also mentioned the seedlings being more like weeds than bonus plants.

http://ohioline.osu.edu/hyg-fact/1000/1603.html

This article is adapted from the above article, but goes a little more in depth.

http://www.hort.purdue.edu/hort/ext/Pubs/ho/HO_096.html

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)