Hardy climbing vine for trellis

Magnolia, TX(Zone 8b)

I'm new to gardening in general, and to climbers specifically. I'd like something hardy enough to withstand our hot and humid climate (zone 8B, S. TX). Flowering, fragrant and preferably blue or white. Is that too much to ask for? Any suggestions?

Sunset Beach, NC(Zone 8a)

Let's see what the "pros" say, but I'm a big one for Confederate Jasmine......evergreen, flowers & fragrance. For blue I like thunbergia grandiflora (sky flower) but it does die back. What about combining the two???
Barbara

Lee's Summit, MO(Zone 6a)

Honeysuckle is in its element with the conditions and requirements you specify - depending on the variety, it blooms in yellow/white, red/white or pink. It stays green year around and has no pest problems.

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

Blue Pea Vine...beautiful royal blue - the hotter it is - the better they like it! There are varities that have a fragrance.
White Coral Vine- again- dont believe it has a scent- but they love it hot- -
Moon flowers- big white flowers that open at dusk- very fragrant.
Rj

Magnolia, TX(Zone 8b)

Wow! Thanks all for the input. Now all I have to do is look them all up and decide........

Magnolia, TX(Zone 8b)

The blue pea vine interests me, but I can't find it here on DG. Is there another name for it?

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

Yes.Butterfly Pea, Blue Pea Vine Clitoria ternatea

Sorry...I always forget about the butterfly part...seems like too many plants with the title of butterfly in it.

http://davesgarden.com/pf/go/528/index.html

Magnolia, TX(Zone 8b)

THANKS!!!!!!! Is it really as blue as it looks in the pictures????? That's perfect! It's so hard to get a truly blue flower.

I see someone wrote that it's drought tolerant. Will it also withstand standing water? That part of my yard is shallow and when the rainy season hits, it can stay wet for days.

I'm also considering a climbing rose there. Any fragrant variety would be the right one, regardless of color :o)