New Grapefruit Tree

Los Angeles, CA(Zone 10a)

I am so excited, I just bought a new rio red grapefruit tree. Anybody have any special tips for growing dwarf citrus trees in pots?

kanita

Fulton, MO

I'm no citrus expert, but I've got seven in containers. Keep pH just south of 7. Citrus are heavy feeders...they take up nutrients at a ratio about 5-1-3, so fertilize in similar proportions. Don't forget trace elements, Fe and Mg. Use a mix with good drainage to avoid root rot. Flush the soil about once every 3 months with a volume of water equal to about 3-4 times the container size, as citrus are also prone to salt buildup in the growing medium. Lots of sun. Watch for scale and mealies.

I have my citrus in a 3:1:1 mix of coconut husk chips:peat:composted horse manure...excellent drainage, impossible to overwater. And I use RO or rainwater, not tap or well water.

Help that helps. Maybe some from your zone can chime in with more. SB

Phoenix, AZ

stress has a lot of great ideas. Citrus in containers need good feeding and watering. I have Mexican Lime, Variegated Calamondin, Buddha's Hand, and a dwarf Royal in containers. Here in Phoenix, with the heat, we use a large pot, at least 18" in diameter. Lots of fun!

Thanks so much. I had a fatal incident with the last two citrus' I had (sweet navel orange and kaffir lime). I over watered and did not have proper drainage which I am now learning.

Should i let the soil dry out before watering?

kanita

Fulton, MO

Kanita,