Interbay mulch system and composting generally

Asheville, NC(Zone 7a)

Hi--read about interbay mulch system on a DG forum and went to website. It seems really doable for me--even tho my actual gardening area is about 40% of my 10 x 10 raised deck and will be in containers, I can do the mulch (same as compost?) hidden from sight on the ground under some thick foliage by my cat's stairway up to deck. My question--remember I am a total beginner--do I just start spreading the compost materials on the ground or do I need something to lay on the ground first or need a compost container where I layer everything? If I can just start laying composting material on the ground, do I need to prepare the ground in some way? I have seen people with large gardens just have their compost materials thrown on a big pile. It will be a small area because I am starting small as this is my first time outside.

Also, I am putting in many hours every day trying to learn as fast as I can, feeling a bit overwhelmed but I know it will get better. Each container will have a different herb or plant so that means soil mixtures have to be plant-specific which means a variety of soil mixtures--right? I change my mind every day--ha ha--right now I am thinking a lot of basil, oregano, mint, something pretty that will climb the poles holding up the awning over my deck ( I won't have direct overhead sun but still very sunny approx 2 feet in on 2-1/2 sides of deck, mostly south from May to mid-Sept) something to attract butterflies, and I just adore begonias. Thanks a bunch. Indyfilmz

p.s. push me in any direction, I am grateful for all the help I can get.

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)