Newly retired! First outdoor (containers on deck) garden.

Asheville, NC(Zone 7a)

Hello. I live in Asheville, NC, and have about 35 feet--9 x 2 long and half legs from the ends about 5 x 1.5-2'. East and mostly south light. Trimming back some trees to add a bit of west light as well. My landlord won't let me dig in the earth but will let me use my raised deck. I'm just starting my research. Keen on basil and mint but would like a little bit of maybe spinach or roma tomatoes, some flowering something. Open to all ideas. Vidalia onions would be great. 100% organic--would like to plant acc. to plants that will protect neighbor plants. In a couple of weeks I will probably have specific questions but in the meantime, would welcome and appreciate any tips for an outdoor absolute beginner. Had a wonderful abundant indoor houseplant garden in strong east light--some plants 25 years old--in Seattle. Tips on containers appreciated as well as info about soil; am thinking wood planks raised on concrete blocks so deck railing and slats will not block light, with as many pots and containers as I can accommodate. Garden will be shut down in November for the winter. Thanks for any and all suggestions and wisdom. Very psyched about this! Indyfilmz

Summerville, SC(Zone 8a)

Hi Indy,

I was in your situation before I bought my home. If you have a good public library I'm sure they have tons of books about container gardening. One tip I can give you, is don't waste potting soil trying to fill up huge containers, throw some empty milk jugs or the like in the bottom and then put the soil in. I do that with all of my large containers and the plants don't mind!

Xeramtheum

Asheville, NC(Zone 7a)

Thanks Xeramtheum, very useful tip. Oh I see that I am going to be learning the Latin names of all kinds of stuff. Just took a look at container garden thread and saw an amazing garden. Bye. Indy

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

Welcome to DG, Indyfilmz!