What are the Best Speices for the East/Midwest

Fenton, MO(Zone 6b)

Hi
I have grown both Asiatic and Orientals. But have not tried the species. Any Suggestions? I live in St.Louis.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Hi declfi ~ I'll let someone else field your question since I have no experience with species lilies, but wanted to welcome you to DG and the Lily Forum.

Divernon, IL(Zone 5b)

I've had success with L. speciosum 'Rubrum'. I'm about 85 mi northeast of you.

Thumbnail by jmorth
Winchester, KY(Zone 6a)

I've read Lilium henryi is virtually indistructible, but I have'nt grown it yet (but plan to). I to have found Rubrum to be a good performer. And the good ol' tiger lily will grow almost anywhere. Lilium regale is great-easy and fragrant. Lilium pumilum is nice to.
Neal.

Johnston, IA(Zone 5a)

Hi decifi,
A great resource for answers to your question would be to contact your local/regional Lily Society. You have a wonderful and extremely knowledgable group right in your area, the Mid America Regional Lily Society.
President - Carol Appelbaum, 11075 Easy St., St Ann, MO, USA 63074, jncappel@att.net
An e-mail to Carol will put you into contact with a wealth of Lily information and a super fun group of Lily enthusiasts.
Good Luck!
Ron

Winnipeg, MB(Zone 2b)

Here are the species I have. All in the garden except
priceii, pardalinum and nepalense

auratum
bulbiferum
canadense diff. colours
cernuum
dauricum
davidii
henryii
lancifolium - if you grow this keep well away from your other lilies, they are a virus carrier I have tons of them, I love them
leichtlinii - red and yellow
longiflorum - some in house and some in garden just to see if they survive
lots of diff. martagons
michiganense
philidelphicum
pumilum & yellow bunting
regale -
speciosum
superbum

Have about 11 others in baggies, hopefully germinating happily but don't want to move the bags to see their names.

You can grow all of the above. If you are interested in Species, you should join the species group.

Inanda