Yellow Morning Glory (i. ochracea) blooming again

Edinburg, TX

Woohoo!!! Noticed that several of my yellow morning glory (ipomoea ochracea) vines are putting out blooms. Most of the flowers are way up at the top of the trellises and fenceline - I had to get out the step-ladder to photograph them :o)

Am hoping I will be able to harvest fresh seeds this year. Last year these vines got zapped by a freak snowfall and freeze before they could put out seeds! Oh well, at least they grew back :o)

~ Cat (south tip of Texas)

Thumbnail by TexasPuddyPrint
Edinburg, TX

...and another close up photo of another bloom.

Sand Springs, OK(Zone 7a)

cool
did not know they had yellow ones

Jacksonville, TX(Zone 8a)

Yeah Cat -
They are just as gorgeous as last year.
I'm in Houston - need to D-Mail you

Emma

Edinburg, TX

Tazzy,

Yep, I've been growing this species for several years. The original seeds came from France and are somewhat rare in the US.

There are a couple of other yellows...but as far as I know they are smaller and paler in color. The i. ochracea has a bright lemon yellow color and about 2.75" in diameter. I assume it could grow bigger if I paid more attention to them and fertilized them but I don't :o)

Hey Emma...whatcha doing in Houston? You moved or vacationing? How are your YMGs doing? Did they survive winter and if so, have them bloomed yet?

This message was edited Nov 14, 2005 11:32 PM

Hi Cat,
My 35-Year Old son, Jim, and his wife, Jennifer, are having their FIRST baby 'Finally' on Wednesday.
Inducing Labor.

My I. Ochraceas did survive the winter [but not outside].
STILL no blooms *>

Lee's Summit, MO(Zone 6a)

EmmaGrace, how exciting - your first Grandbaby - post when the arrival happens, please!

Cat, those are gorgeous - thanks for sharing your pictures with us.

Calvert County, MD(Zone 7a)

Just got some of those seeds sprouting here! Nicking the seeds is apparently the key *remembers that for next time*