potato vine "bulbs"

Crivitz, WI(Zone 4b)

I am new to Daves Garden..and guess I posted my question in the wrong place before. Anyway I have potato vine "potatoes" I found when I was cleaning out my flower pots this Fall. The vine was purchased from a greenhouse. What do I do with the "potatoes" Do you cut them like seed potatoes (saving the eyes) and replant or plant the whole potato? They are large, from 5" to about 8" long.

Denver, CO

I have a few and really don't like them. But I understand that one simply stores them whole and uncut in a place dry and cool.
Good luck wit those funny little things. They are fun, but have few redeeming ascetic qualities...

Niceville, FL(Zone 8b)

I have never cut mine but left them whole. Mine stay in the ground all your round here, but I imagine you would treat them like any other type bulb/rhizome.
Welcome to Daves.

Winchester, KY(Zone 6a)

I've stored mine in dry peat in a cool place for winter whole and in tact and they stored well. In spring I potted it up and as sprouts arose I just pulled them off and planted them where I wanted them. Each sprout had a few roots, so they went directly into my plantings. I ended up with all the plants I wanted from 1 potatoe. You can pull all the sprouts off and more will grow back. For me, only the plants in containers produced potatoes, but in the ground nothing. I think warmer soil temps had something to do with it. Good luck, Neal.

Niceville, FL(Zone 8b)

I did dig a few up this year and am going to keep them inside and do the bonsai thing with them.

Jacksonville, TX(Zone 8a)

I grew a Sweet Potato last year and what a show it put on.
Covered a HUGE portion of my fence - and produced lots of blooms as well.
And it did make a quite few potatoes that were HUGE. One was about 2' long.
They were the sweetest tasting I've eaten yet.

Emma

Crivitz, WI(Zone 4b)