compost tea

Port Orchard, WA(Zone 8a)

I was wondering if anyone had any new additives that they thought made their teas better. I've been making tea for 2 years now and have watched my garden come alive. would appreciate all input, I always think that, I can learn to make it better. thanks hostajim1

Fredericksburg, TX(Zone 8a)

There is a nursery owner here locally who puts worm castings in her tea, brews it in can with some sort of aquarium pump for aeration for a few hours. It also has compost made with turkey litter. I just found the recipe. It's 1 lb castings/compost, 1 tsp molasses (non-sulfur) and 1 tsp humate. Is that what you do?

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

hostajim1, are you making "tea", or "leach"?

When I make "worm castings tea" I add molasses and let it work with that. Sometimes I add corn meal, especially if I've let the tea work a few days (that will give me a few more days before I have to do something w/it!).

Care to offer your ingredients? Thanks!

Shoe.

The people at this nursery told us that if you don't aerate your compost tea it begins to produce alcohol and alcohol is toxic to plants. I don't have any experience with this myself because I don't make my own tea. But I do buy it from a very reputable place. It comes in a 1 gal jug. I don't know how long it's been in there before I buy it, but I know it't not being aerated. So how dangerous is compost tea if it's been in a jug for awhile?

San Jose, CA(Zone 9b)

Jim, I don't know enough to be of help here, but thanks for doing this thread. I am very interested in improving my tea.

Where can you purchase the non-sulfur molasses and humate?
~Angela

San Jose, CA(Zone 9b)

I'm hoping to bypass the aeration, to simplify things. If you use your tea after letting it brew a day or two, wouldn't it be ók?