Pretty perennials to plant with spring bulbs???

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Hi, everybody--

I have been going through my pics from last spring looking for companion plants for my daffodils (mostly April and some May bloom in zone 6a)...

But the only perennial I can ID blooming with my daffs is creeping phlox...I do have a few muscari coming up with the daffs, though. And a magnolia blooming that is very pretty. And a red bud.

Other than those, does anyone have any other suggestions?...

Thanks. t.

Thornton, IL

Lungwort blooms at same time as daffodils too.

Lungwart--what an ugly name for such a pretty flower! I found a listing for it under Forget-me-nots from Swallowtail and it comes in three or four varieties at least.

Myosotis sylvatica:

http://www.swallowtailgardenseeds.com/perennials/forgetmenotper.html

I suppose I could start these with wintersowing...(I'm not good at seed starting at all!).

Thanks, prairiegirl--any other ideas?!!

Winchester, KY(Zone 6a)

Flowering almond is a sweet, little blooming shrub that's always pretty with my daffs and muscari. Bulb plants arising through groundcovers is pretty to (like vinca, lamium, ajuga, or lysimachia). The Lexington cemetary (which has a park-like area of wonderful plantings) has a very effective combination of white daffs with Virginia bluebells (I'm copying that one myself). And primula (vulgaris types I think) are among my favorites. I only have red with yellow eyes and magenta with yellow eyes now, but have seen that Garden Crossings offers a couple of new double varieties in blue and pink.

White Lake, ON(Zone 4b)

GeminiSage - I like the picture you painted with the flowering almond, muscari and daffs.

tabasco - Besides those mentioned, these bloom at the same time as daffodils for me:
Arabis caucasica - Rock Cress
Aubrieta - Purple Rock Cress
Erica 'Aurea' - Heather
Heleborus niger - Christmas Rose
Trillium grandiflorum - Trillium
Vinca minor - Periwinkle

and at the tail end: