Saving little Trees

Brandon, MS(Zone 8a)

Hi, I am new to this site. I am also new to gardening, although it is in my blood, as my grandmother always said. This is wonderful site for learning. I hope you can help me with this question.

We just bought a house with an acre of land. This lot was a wooded area and good bit of the land was not cleared by the builder and it looked like a small jungle. We have been clearing brush and dead limbs. We want to keep the areas (back and 2 sides) kind of like a nature area between our neighbors.

There are many small pin oak trees of all different sizes. There are other trees,too, but I immediately recognized the pin oaks. There are so many and they are too close together. Can those trees be transplanted to pots and given away or even sold? I hate the idea of killing those tiny trees. There are new houses going up all over the place where we live. Plus, here in Central MS, we lost a ton of tree from hurricane Katrina. Call me a tree love but I sure hate to see those little trees purposely destroyed when so many trees were destroyed during the hurricane.

Donna

Brockton, MA(Zone 6a)

Donna, I know what you mean. I have small ceders, maples and mulberry trees sprouting up all the time. They can be easily potted up and wintered over until spring, then planted or given away. I started a living fence with 15 young ceders a few years back, now they are almost touching each other and provide privacy for my city lot.
Andy P

Oregon City, OR(Zone 8b)

I wonder, are Pin Oaks native to Mississippi? Not sure but I think they might be?
Oaks are difficult to transplant, even as seedlings, but give it a try.