raised bed question

Winchester, VA(Zone 6b)

what material is best for the sides of raised beds? I have seen tires used but there are a lot of chemicals in tires

some people use pressure treated wood but that is treated with arsnic and copper

there is the new trex materials

Are there any other choices? Favorites

Thanks Rox

Fort Myers, FL(Zone 10a)

Old CCA is no longer manufactured Treated acq pine does not have arsnic in it and no studies have showed leeching of harmful chemicals from pt to vegetables. Maybe someone has a different opinon but i dont think it is much to be concerned about.

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

I used pine untreated 2"x12" planks and treated them with boiled linseed oil/paraffin and turpentine.

Audubon, PA(Zone 6b)

roxroe.. Hi there. Saw your open question about rarised beds and thought I'd chime in with my two-cents worth for your consideration. I've been using raised beds since 1982 and haven't needed anything besides the God-given earth. In 1981 we toured China and they've used raised beds for CENTURIES---- without rubber tires, arsenic-laden wood or anything else. Seems to work fine for them & for me. My wife is Chinese & she says that is the way it's always been done in Canton. She doesn't complain about ALL the veggies I grow for us so it must be working!!! It is simple & cheap. I simply form my raised beds about 4 ft. wide by 10 to 12 feet long , and 10-12 inches high & plant to my hearts content. Between the beds are pathways about 12 - 16 inches wide. All fertilizers, compost, water, etc.. are put onto the growing beds and NOT wasted on the pathways. That's about it!! Simple, huh??? We Americans tend to complicate things unnecessarily....

GOOD luck!!
LD

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

Mine are spruce planks

Lindsay, OK(Zone 7a)

Mine are pine but I also added some plastic to form a liner just in case . .. cottonpicker can you post a pic to give me a better idea of how that would work?