Have you used mushroom compost? How was it?

Claremore, OK

All my friends rave about mushroom compost. I purchased a trailer load today in Oklahoma.
I don't think you have to age this stuff do you? I was just planning on mixing most of it into a compost pile I already have going about the same size.

What have you done with your mushroom compost? What kind of results did you get?

Fayetteville, NC(Zone 8a)

I bought a dump truck full of soil mixed with mushroom compost this spring and it has been wonderful, except for one thing--I gained a lot of weeds. Once I could get a handle on those, it has been fine. Someone told me that the mushroom compost was the reason for the weeds, but I'm not an expert on it, so I can't say for sure. I just know that I had a heck of a lot of weeds. No aging required.

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Hi, dd,

We had a load of 50/50 mushroom compost and topsoil delivered to creat new gardens this year and it seems to be fine. Some people like to lighten it up with sand, pea gravel, leaf mold or other amendments depending on what they are planting... The supplier told me they are getting a 'higher' quality mushroom compost now and they run it through a sieve now too. I think mushroom compost tends to be on the basic side, so you may want to do a soil test at some point...

I also had a load of mushroom compost (only) delivered last fall to put on our old flower beds. Seemed to make nice soil for growing flowers.

I didn't notice any extra weeds from that, but I do believe we picked up a lot of weeds from the mulch we had delivered later.

Just like everything for the garden, I think there is well made mushroom compost and then weedy stuff. It depends a lot on the suppliers' track record I think...

Good luck. t.

somewhere, PA

I've been using mushroom soil for a few years. I never have trouble with weeds.
It should be clear of weeds from my experience. I love digging it into my veggie