Letting the soil prep itself?

Emerald Hills, CA(Zone 9b)

We removed grass from an area and want to plant - I'd guesstimate the bed to be between 200 & 300 sq. ft. We've planted a few of the larger shrubs (ie. 3 peegee hydrangea trees, 3 princess flowers, 2 flower maples), but want to plant perennials next year. The ground is hard & rocky (once you dig about 6 inches down)! As we planted we filled the holes with a potting soil/compost mix... and I sprinkled some bloodmeal last weekend to try to keep the deer at bay. Is there a way to let the rest of the bed prep itself during fall & winter. Maybe by putting compost down and newspaper (or do we need the newspaper since the grass is already gone)? And will the earthworms find the bed (how is that possible?) or should I buy worms? The flowering maples had about a dozen worms in the pots - are those enough to start?

As my questions probably show, I'm a newbie.... please feel free to direct me to another thread, if I'm asking questions that have already been answered.

Thanks!

Georgetown, KY(Zone 6a)

I'm not sure this will help, but here's what we do. We mow the grass and then put down 6-8 sheets of newpaper [b+wh not glossy colored]. We then layer mulch on top and usually by the following year the soil is soft and easily workable. When we place the paper we usually wet it to keep in place till we mulch the top.Sometimes we can't afford more mulch and we use grass clippings instead. Either seem to work for us and our flower beds. There are always worms, not sure where they come from--but they show up!Good luck...

(Zone 2b)