Can you help save the life of a lilac????

Oak Park, IL

I have a Miss Kim lilac bush in my front yard that is very sick. It's leaves have turned yellow and developed brown spots on them. They don't appear or feel dried out. I am in Zone 5. This bush bloomed this spring, but not profusely because it is in only partial sun. I am a novice gardener but I thought it might be a soil nutrient deficiency, I have tried fertilizing it with an organic fertilizer made for flowers. Does anyone recognize this problem? I would really like to save the bush and would appreciate any advice. Thanks!

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

Might be Iron Chlorosis

http://gardenline.usask.ca/trees/iron.html

Do you have a pic?

Marc

Oak Park, IL

Thanks for responding. It has been diagnosed as leaf spot. We have had horrible humidity all summer in Chicago. This combined with the heat has made this a common problem for lilacs this year. I think that since it's in the front of the house, and humidity is always a problem here in the summer, I will move it and replace it with something that can better withstand the conditions.

Lisa.

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

Well good...glad you have the diagnosis. Hope you find a good home somewhere else in your yard.
I dearly love lilacs :-)