self watering pots

Paducah, KY

I now have 4 new AVs. I bought the self watering pots. Does any one use them instead of the wicks, and do you like them? I am new to this.

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

Congrats on your new acquisitions!

Let me point you to a previous thread, http://davesgarden.com/forums/t/468389/

Additional questions? Ask away!

Paducah, KY

Thanks for the link! Am very excited about my new plants. Also I saw today where a local mall is having an AV show this weekend. This seems to be addictive.

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

Woohooo! Looks like another one has been bitten by the bug, so to speak. AVs are definitely addictive, LOL! Maybe there should be a warning at the top of the forum page... :-)

I wonder if the exhibitors at the show will be offering leaves for sale... Check out the culture pages at robsviolet.com. You'll be amazed at how easily AVs can be started from a leaf, and I hope you'll give it a try! We do trade leaves & plantlets with one another in this forum, which adds to the fun.

When you get a chance, please post pictures of your new beauties!

Paducah, KY

I just finished helping my hubby install the new gro lite. I mixed potting soil and perlite. Repotted the beauties. They were standing in water at Lowes. The old dirt was smelly like it was soured. Very mushy. VERY smelly. Got them in the self watering pots. I don't even know what one color is, but I felt sorry for it. Fed a very diluted miracle gro soultion. If I missed a step, somebody please tell me. Will check out robsviolets.com, and read on AVs till late, I'm sure. Love this site! I will post pics when they perk up some. Thanks for chatting! I feel an obsession coming on!

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

"I feel an obsession coming on"

You go, girl!!

Boyoboy... new soil, new grow lite... these AV's are just livin' the life at your house!