New to Xeriscaping

La Luz, NM

Hi,

I'm a beginner to this so will appreciate the help I find on this forum. I am just closing on a home in La Luz New Mexico, in the foothills of the Sacramento Mountains. I'm coming from the midwest, so am not at all familiar on what to plant in this area, which is mostly clay soil.
I am having a contractor out to help me with the problem of washout from the mountain, where they dug into the side to level out the area for the house. I may have to put in a retaining wall or use the many rocks I have around the backyard to help filter the clay during the rainy season, as I get quite a bit of mud on the back patio right now.
It was suggested that I also plant around the area, after the drainage problem is fixed to help with the structural integrity of the soil. Not to mention, I need some color!! Nothing has been landscaped in this backyard, so I'm starting with a fresh canvas and would like to make it look beautiful. Dont have alot of money to start with, but would appreciate any help in telling me how to start, and what kind of plants would be best. Then I could add to this as time goes on. Thanks!

Lodi, CA(Zone 9a)

What zone are you in? I would search around the web for a good nursery that carries alot of native plants. If there isn't one in your area, there's always mail order. Coming from the midwest, there is probably nothing that you planted there that will work in NM. Good luck.

Pahrump, NV(Zone 8b)

Check out High Country Gardens, they are located in Santa Fe and even if you don't choose to order from them they are a good reference point for xeriscape plants for your area.

I always laugh when I see "drought tolerant" in most gardening catalogues and magazines...yeah, right...drought tolerant in South Carolina maybe. If High Country lists it as drought tolerant...it is.

Personally for alkaline clay soil, temperature extremes, and super dry conditions I swear by:

1. globemallow
2. Mt. Atlas daisy
3. Blackfoot daisy