Good ole hardy Lantana

Lubbock, TX(Zone 7a)

I love this stuff!

Thumbnail by Sunshines2day
Mount Angel, OR(Zone 8a)

Me too, but it is not hardy here but the color range in lantanas is fabulous too.

Chicago, IL(Zone 5b)

Oh I'm so glad someone posted regarding Lantana. I have two plants of the same color as Sunshines2day. They're growing great and I'll plant them again from now on! One question: what's with the "berries"? I just noticed them the other day and both plants are loaded with them. Are these the beginnings of the seeds? Please educate me on this as I've never grown Lantana before this year.

Toni

Chicago, IL(Zone 5b)

Excuse me....but I'm an idiot! I was just cruising through the Seed Trading forum and came upon a thread offering Lantana seeds. The picture of the seeds is what I'm calling "berries"! Guess I'll go "berry picking" in the morning ;)

petersburg, KY(Zone 6b)

this is my first year with lantana too!! I love it, can you save the seeds. I do know their posionous to animals though. So watch out for puppies and kitties, I was thinking about trying to propagate some.
here's a pic of mine

Thumbnail by shellyp98
Lubbock, TX(Zone 7a)

I'm not sure how easy it is to grow Lantana from collected seeds. I would be curious to know the answer though. I, too , have the understanding that the berries are potentially harmful to animals. This is the first year I haven't kept up with trimming them off. I grew these knowing they wouldn't likely live through the winter, but the first year I had some type of yellow Lantana re-emerge in the Spring. This yellow plant did not come back this second season. I love the way the flowers change colors as they mature.

Lee's Summit, MO(Zone 6a)

The tiny, tiny seeds are inside the 'berries'.

Southeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Kay ~ Can the berries be harvested before they are dry? I have noticed my lantana are full of them, checked them out today and they are quite soft.

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)