abled fighters

Rethymno, Crete, Greece(Zone 10b)

Being an Orthopaedic surgeon, I first advised arthritic patients to abandon gardening (in my training years). Then I matured a bit more, and advised them not to overdo it - just do as much as you can (in my registrar years, in the UK). Now I tell them to use all tricks in the book, and keep working manually (proven antidote to arteriosclerosis), stay outside (proven antidote to osteoporosis) and keep doing nice work - it boosts your morale, which is the basic weapon to fight arthritis.

Keep going, I admire you all, I love you all !! You keep teaching me every single day !!

Dimitri

Panama, NY(Zone 5a)

Dimitri,
When I was a little girl, there was a woman from my home town who had been stricken with Rheumatoid Arthritis at age 24 in 1924. She was a friend of my grandmother's and every year when they brought her to a summer home in the little lake village near us, we would go to visit her. She had been bedridden for 28 years before I was born, and when I remember her from, she was virtually immobile. Her hands were very straight and smooth, like ivory they were so still. Five years ago, when I was told I had RA, all I could think about was Jennie, all that she went through and her courage in the face of it all. She lived well into her 70s, and I had taken my own little daughter to visit her once before she died. Now, with all of the advancements in medicine in the last century, I wasn't afraid that I would spend my days like Jennie did, but I knew that I would be up against my own body working against me. I kept working on our dairy farm daily until this spring. The cows are just to unpredictible and rough on me. I will keep gardening as long as I can crawl out the door and wrap my fingers around the weeds. THAT will be a long time - I am in pretty good shape for the shape I'm in. And it always helps to have a doctor encourage you to keep moving!

Santa Barbara, CA