wilting hydrangea

Cary, NC(Zone 7b)

Help! My mophead hydrangea is seriously wilting. I watered it two days ago a lot and then this morning a gallon of water. It has not responded and I don't know why.

Marietta, GA(Zone 7b)

Though I am not an expert on hydrangeas, I do know that overwatering can cause wilting every bit as much as dryness. With the high level of rainfall in the SE this year, many of my hydrangeas have ailed from being waterlogged: the roots need to be able to breathe. If the soil is damp down to 4" or so, don't water them. Also, it is normal for hydrangeas to look wilted during the day and perk up after the sun is no longer on them. One thing I've tried doing with a lot of success this summer is that when they look wilted and I suspect they aren't thirsty, I give them a foliar feeding (diluted water-soluable fertilizer) just on the leaves--that seems to help give them a boost without aggrevating the dampness at the root level. I keep meaning to make some calls to the co-op extension and my hydrangea supplier (Wilkerson Mill, www.hydrangea.com-- they have great advice) to learn more about one of my hydrangeas that has actually lost all it's leaves (which started after super heavy rains) but it appears to have healthy buds. If I get around to it and they tell me anything useful, I'll let you know. In the meantime, I hope this gives you something to go on.

Cary, NC(Zone 7b)

Thanks so much for your reply. That hydrangea has now lost all of its leaves. They looked brown and shriveled up. Yet, the other hydrangea about 6 inches away from it only lost a couple of leaves and is doing fine. Both of them however are growing new baby leaves. I am not sure what is happening. I can't find any bugs on the plant.

Woodville, TX(Zone 8a)