Just a wild, generic datura?

Leesburg, VA(Zone 7a)

This started in my garden last year. I planted seeds for an alleged Four O'Clock and this came up in its place. I've since seen very similar ones on the roadside, but have never ventured to pull over for a closer look. The flowers, as you might be able to tell, are not all that impressive ... perhaps 2, probably more like 3, times the size of a healthy petunia. Last year, the purple was a much more prominent.

I've been pinching off the seed pods the past two weeks to see if it'll bloom more profusely. Is this a datura worth saving the seeds for or do I have a semi-indiginous "volunteer" in my garden?

(ps: I also started getting rid of the pods because I've pulled hundreds [literally] of datura sprouts from all over the yard as a result of the two I had last year)

Thumbnail by BogweedBuck
Pocahontas, TN(Zone 7b)

I'm no expert by far, but I believe what you have is:

"Datura stramonium var tatula f. tatula (has violet coloring in the center of the flower corolla)"

And that it is also called Lilac LaFleur. Many people like this Datura and would want seeds, or seedlings.

Judy

Pocahontas, TN(Zone 7b)

Please view this thread

http://davesgarden.com/forums/t/538741/

Kittrell, NC(Zone 7b)

Well, I usually "talk" to you in the watergarden forum. These datura volunteer at the drop of a hat. I had one, now I have several hundred babies. I made the mistake after the first freeze pulling them up andthrowing them in my husbands garden area to be tilled up. BOY was that a mistake!! Now he has several hundred in his garden, our neighbors have them coming up, they are everywhere!! My daughter ssaid they are aliens taking over!!LOL!!

Jackson, SC(Zone 8a)

i like this one as it is more fragrent to me then others and its a good one for beginners because it doent take rocket science for them to grow. Haha

but they do get out of hand if you dont pinch the seed pods.

Greensburg, IN(Zone 6a)