Veggies for the winter greenhouse

Ontario, NY(Zone 6a)

Hi, I'm new to Dave's Garden and have learned so much from reading posts. We are just finishing an 8x12 attached greenhouse and I want to order seeds. I'm hoping to grow salad greens all winter in raised beds. I'd also like to try taking tomatoes and cukes through as much of the winter months as possible. A heat run from the house goes into the greenhouse and I'm hoping I'll be able to grow some of the cold/low light tolerant tomatoes in the warmer areas. I have the Stokes catalogue, which features some greenhouse varieties. Can anybody recommend a really good tasting greenhouse tomato? For greens, I like leaf lettuce -- especially the reds -- and spinach. Any favorites?

The other thing I hope to grow all winter is a trellis full of sweet peas -- the flower, not the veggie. Has anybody tried this? I'm thinking I'll get these from Stokes, too. I have tried Thompson and Morgan in the past because of all the varieties they have, but never had much luck with germination.

I'm so excited about getting my dream greenhouse at last. I used to be a very active gardener, but got too busy and gave it up for a number of years. Now I'm in mid mid-sixties and have a veggie garden again. I'll be starting my own seedlings this spring. I want to grow some unusual things you can't buy in the stores. Our son is coming tonight to help my husband put in the roof glass panels. I'll try to post some pictures if I can figure out how to do it. I'm excited to join this great group of greenhouse experts. I hope you won't mind all of my questions. Thanks for any advice you can give me!

MJ

Springfield, OH(Zone 5b)

Welcome to the forum MJ :) I am still in the ranks of "dreaming about a greenhouse) My favorite greens for salad are Black seeded simpson, Deers tongue. buttercrunch..I like some of the oak leaved lettuces and I must have arugula for it's peppery spicy flavor

Fulton, MO

Fascinating...