First year Oriental Lilies

Central Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

Should I be concerned that the Oriental lilies & orientpet lily I planted this year didn't grow very tall (12 inches)? Out of the several I planted only one flowered. This is my first year for this type of lily and I just don't know what to expect.

Thumbnail by Texas_Doodlebug
(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

For many people they don't come up the first year or they're stunted. Second year should be perfect.

Since Texas weather is so different from ours, I'd rely on what other Texans tell you. Good luck!

Thanks. I guess I shouldn't worry too much and just wait for next year. It is going to be very hard to wait.

We have ours on the side of the house: one of the last gardens to get our attention in springtime. I had this huge S shaped area all dug out, all amendments in the soil, etc. and then, planted the Oriental mix of 25 when they arrived. Never even noticed when they began to grow and the bunnies ate every one down to ground level. Lesson: sprinkle blood meal for a foot around every spot that has any kind of lily. It really works. Of course, I didn't have any stalks, no less blossoms that year! I thought for certain they couldn't survive but they did. Whew!

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

TB ~ if you had growth and a little bloom this year, you're doing fine. Next year should be spectacular. :) Welcome to lily love!

I just received two Tiara as a bonus in a trade: heaven on earth!

Thanks Moby. I love my Asiatics and can't wait to see my oriental lilies in bloom.

Have your camera and your nose ready for a real treat.

Cedar Rapids, IA(Zone 5a)

I plan to plant more lilies this fall when llilyfan opens her garden market booth. I'll know that they are healthy and she actually sends the ones you expect to get!

I'm sure 2006 crop of bunnies will need something to eat in early spring . I'd hate to disappoint them.