Velvet Queen

Janis

Thumbnail by Woofens
Dillonvale, OH(Zone 6a)

With the flash

Love the colors

Thumbnail by Woofens
Mount Angel, OR(Zone 8a)

Love sunflowers, it feels like summer finally has reached its peak when we start seeing sunflowers.Great photos.

Dillonvale, OH(Zone 6a)

Sure does. This is my first year growing sunflowers, it has been really neat watching them grow and open

Thanks!

Janis

Portland, OR(Zone 8b)

This volunteer popped up in march and I have never seen anything like it. The height to the main flower is over 8 feet and get a load of the halo of flowers around it. They're all from the same plant and not sure what kind this is. I grew a ton of grey-striped mammoth sunflowers last year. Is this monster one of them?

Thumbnail by emilyrasmus
(Zone 1)

Hey emily it looks to me like it could be Kong. Kong is a multi headed Monster that can get up to 14 feet. I have 6 growing and my tallest is already 10 feet. It wont be Grey Striped Mammoth though as thats a single headed one but the height of a grey strip is normally 8 feet. You could have a cross between the two as both are easily crossed. Anyways This is my first year growing a garden and I am growing over 20 types of sunflowers. Am 22 years old so spent all our mild BC winter digging up a huge Garden at my parents and have got 213 Sunflowers growing. =P I really love them and there are quite a few really nice ones. The only one I have just hated is called Jade.

Portland, OR(Zone 8b)

Thank you for the id. I think you are right about it being a Kong. I can't wait to grow more of these next year. This one showed up in one of my side beds and I was able to successfully transplant it.

Do you have any pics of your sunflower garden? I'd love to see them.

Dillonvale, OH(Zone 6a)

Emily, if you get seeds I would love to trade for some, those are awesome :)

Janis

Portland, OR(Zone 8b)

I'll definitely have some as the bees have been very busy on all of the flowers.

Dillonvale, OH(Zone 6a)