Dumb question?

Hope, BC(Zone 7a)

Sorry all of you long time veggie gardeners, this is probably a dumb question, but this is my first time, and I am just curious to know if any veggies are perennial?? (I have Zucchini, Tomatoes, Pumpkins, Cucmbers, Carrottes, Jalepeno's and Habanero's, you know, just the common stuff)
Also wondering which method is preferred, from seed or store bought starters?
Thanks for any help or info for the newbie :-)

This message was edited Aug 5, 2005 9:30 AM

Auburn, AL(Zone 8a)

No stupid question..Yes some types of veggies can be perennial. Not the ones you listed but..*G* Pacific spinach, sweet potato and others but most vegetables are annuals.

As far as which method is preferred that's a tad more tricky. Starting from seed allows you much more variety as well as allows you in some cases to avoid some of the diseases you can pick up from green house plants. In the end it will have to be a personal choice. No right or wrong just what is best for you.

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Some are perennials in their native climates, But have to be grown as annuals in temperate climates. That includes sweet potatoes, lots of peppers, even some tomatoes. Others are biennials, that are grown mostly as annuals except when you want seed. That includes beets, cabbage etc. True perennial vegetables grown in temperate zones include Asparagus and rhubarb.

Auburn, AL(Zone 8a)

True and I should have mention climates. Iluv meet Dill...he's an expert on veggies and is always fast to answer a question and has a vast store of info he can link you to.

San Jacinto County, TX(Zone 8a)

Hey Iluvmygarden;
Wow, what a view!

That person from down texican land way sho-nuf be-rite!
"No right or wrong just what is best for you"

However;
Did I understand "bought starters"?
The best sets, or starters are tha ones grown in your local area.
Speaking of which;
There are many folks here on DG from tha northland, various areas, zones.