Thanks to DG folks- how to PLAN the perfect IRIS bed

Pearisburg, VA(Zone 7a)

I'm new to Iris's simply because I had terrible luck as a new gardener. They are the one thing missing in my garden, which is very, very small. I choose only the exact plant that will do what I want. No room for 'fun' gardening any more. Thanks to some great, thoughtful iris growners on DG I have managed to gather some very healthy, named Iris. I want to start the right, healthy bed for them. Any suggestions? I'm in SW Va so I'm sure full sun will be first....I need to do soil testing to give more info to you but I really want to make this a major project - thanks to DG folks who have shared their healthy iris for me.

How deep, how much sun, types of soil they love, etc.....I can't wait to start this plot - after it gets under 99 degrees !
Kathy

Arnett, WV(Zone 5b)

Oh my Gosh Kathy,

Isnt the heat here attrocious! Ive been doing any and all of my gardening early in the am or late in the evening. I like you
have some new iris that I need get into beds as well.

If I come up with anything Ill give you holler . lol lol

SHOULD I DARE SAY IT??????????????????

fall is coming sshhhhhh

Lafayette, IN(Zone 5a)

Hey you two.........I lived in Bluefield WV for fourteen years until I moved here 3 years ago. Loved it there, but this is where my home is! The heat has been awful here also and coupled with lots of humidity. We caught a break from it today......it was only 71 for the high!
Hope you get some cooling temps soon!

Please don't use that 4 letter word for awhile!

Vancouver, WA(Zone 7a)

Well, they say the 3 most important things in real estate are "location, location, location". I say the biggest thing in iris growing is "drainage, drainage, drainage"! Then (just about equally important) is sun. If you've got those two things right, irises will do pretty well for you.