Newbie needing help

Berkshire, NY(Zone 5a)

Hi - My daughter sent me a juniper bonsai for Mother's Day. It came from a place called Eve's Garden. It looked okay for awhile but now is shedding smaller branches and not looking very happy. I guess it really ought to be outside but I don't think it will survive the winter here in zone 5. I certainly can put it outside, but if I have to bring it in for winter, won't it just die then? Also the directions said to water it every day but just skimming through these threads, I see that maybe that is too much water. I also bought some fertilizer from the same place - it makes a very dilute solution and says to fertilize every time you water. It is in the middle of a very bright room that gets lots of sun, but not in a window because I don't think it should have direct sunlight.

I am not a complete novice with house plants - I have a small cedar tree indoors that I have managed to keep in good shape for nearly 2 years - it is not a bonsai, but was sold as a decoration at Christmas time.

I'd be very grateful for any advice from the experts here - thanks in advance!

Manhattan Beach, CA(Zone 11)

This site will tell you EVERYTHING you need to know, I think. http://www.bonsaisite.com/
Get that Juniper outside into partial sun immediately! Keep the soil moist but never soggy. Don't fertilize more than once a month.
I don't know about winter, we don't have whatever that is around here.
Good luck!

Edited to add: Sorry, I'm no expert.

This message was edited Jul 26, 2005 3:52 PM

Berkshire, NY(Zone 5a)

Any more input? I am interested in hearing about bringing a bonsai inside for the winter after one has been outside for the summer months. Will a typical juniper survive a zone5 winter?

Pittsfield,, MA(Zone 5b)