Summer & Fall red/yellow borders

Southeast, NE(Zone 5a)

I'm new to DG, so forgive my basic questions.

I have an area between the porch (new house, so nothing there yet) and sidewalk about 20" wide and 32 feet long. It begs for flowers. I want to do bulbs or perennials rather than seeds or annuals because my thumb isn't very dark green yet. We made tulip decisions for spring and will be planting those bulbs this fall. The tulips will be red and yellow varieties and we want to stay with the red and yellow (mostly red, if possible) for summer and fall.

What are some red or yellow perennials that would look great in a border and bloom in the summer or in the fall besides crocus, cannas, and gladiolas? We're in Zone 5. I am going to post this same queston in the Bulb forum because I don't know what I'm doing on this site yet. This is my first question!

Southeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Welcome to DG, McGlory! First thing I thought when I read your post - "new house" - was that your must have had to rebuild due to the tornado last year. Can't imagine having to start all over again. Anyway, I think yellow chrysanthemums would be beautiful...also red and yellow daylilies. I'm sure there are many other possibilities, but my brain is on slow right now. LOL Judy

West Monroe, LA(Zone 8a)

Hi! I'm from the south,but I think Solidago (goldenrod) is hardy. I have a lovely small one. If you go to Bluestone Perennials they have a search engine with zone, light,soil, and color choices. Maybe that can help. GingerGaia

Southeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Thanks, Judy! Yes, "new house in Hallam" can only mean one thing, can't it? :-) My old house was pretty well landscaped when I moved in so I just watered what was there. Got to be a jungle. Now that we're starting over, I don't even know the names of the flowers and bushes we had before!