hello everyone, new here from michigan

saugatuck, MI(Zone 6a)

hi all y'all!

i am new to DG and loving it! will have to intro myself here and to the michigan group and sooo many places here...this is wonderful!

ok. i am female, 55, living in southwest michigan. i am disabled. when i landed here 5 years ago i moved heaven and earth and idjits LOL to get a community garden site designed, funded, and installed for me and my 10 neighbor-units. t'wasn't easy but we did it. *GRIN*

we have two semi-accessible raised beds (management wouldn't stretch to fully-accessible, still working on em). two railroad ties up, spiked for stability, about 25 feet by 4 feet ID, each. a rubbermaid shed for tools (ergonomic hand & long) , 5 gal buckets instead of wheelbarrow, plenty of hose, stakes, etc. i bought a fine mist drip hose this year which i run down the middle (looped twice) which is much easier for gang-watering--$6 at the hdwe store.

tenants grow an assortment of veg, herbs, flowers, whatever they want and like...with the exception of invasives. we have a meeting for everyone in february to speak for a plot and divide the beds up according to how many will be gardening. i have 2 plots this year, about 12 feet by 4 feet total.