Celery

Eureka, CA

Okay, so it's my first time trying to grow celery. My DH cuts it into a green salad every day, so I thought I'd grow some. I put it in a raised bed, good sun exposure, fresh planting mix & compost, and they did great! But they are mostly leaves. There is plenty to cut up, actually, but they don't look like what we buy in the store. One of the plant already went to flower before it got really good stalks on it. Any ideas? Soil too much nitrogen or something else?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Sanna

Judsonia, AR(Zone 7b)

Where did you buy your celery plant at? There is a celery out there called cutting celery, it's an herb, looks alot like parsley in the beginning, and grows out later on with completely round stalks of celery, which are hard and tough, but when cut young they are quite tasty, Maybe you haev that kind of celery instead of the ones like in the grocery store, I've never been able to get celery to grow like the ones in the store. I just grow the cutting celery now, and I bought it as regular celery too, which is why I asked you about your plant, mine was labeled celery, but I found out later it was the herb cutting celery. never growsup to look like celery, seeds out early. I know with other plants, seeding out is a sign of too much heat/hot weather. some plants just seed out faster than others too like the cilantro. the minute you put it in the ground, it grows into a flower and seeds out.

kathy_ann

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

Sanna, I grow the celery called French Dinant. Don't have any right now but will try to get in a fall crop. I grow it from seed. The stalks are a bit thinner and the flavor is more pronounced than the Pascal celery sold commercially. Did you grow yours from seed?

Eureka, CA