My first perennial bloom ever :)

Dillonvale, OH(Zone 6a)

Here is my first perennial bloom, I am so excited about it. Silly, I guess but this is my first year gardening at all, and even though I bought this as a 2 yr old plant, I had to share this bloom.
A question tho, this is supposed to be an Artic Ice Dianthus, and have white blooms with a red center, will the next blooms be different?
I know the soil looks horrid, it is terrible, and we are composting and working it as much as possible.
Thanks
Janis

Thumbnail by Woofens

Congratulations Woofens!!! Nothing silly about it at all, I'm like it over every first few blooms on each plant.

The next blooms are unlikely to be different but who knows, anything could happen.

Show me a gardener who is constantly happy with his soil and I'll show you my large collection of hens teeth :-D Our garden is a bit like the proverbial mechanics car. Don't worry about it, enjoy it!

Chicago, IL(Zone 5b)

Thanks for sharing your first bloom, Woofens. I think your plant looks great. It still counts as a success even if it was 2 years old when you bought it!

Gardening is so much fun. I am like a little kid every spring when things start blooming. Ooohh, look! A bud. . .a flower. . . two new flowers, and so on. LOL

This message was edited Jun 28, 2005 7:33 PM

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Congratulations woofens: now you know the thrill of gardening. It's to your credit that your plant lived and improving the soil is always worth the work.

The excitement doesn't decrease when you past 60 either! I still watch every bloom and still get excited at each new plant when I get the first blossom. Today was "Opening Day" for my new Japanese iris, 'Pinwheel' - take a look with me. I just love it.

Thumbnail by pirl
Dillonvale, OH(Zone 6a)