I just received them today.
What do I do with them?
I know I plant them.heehee
Acid soil what ph?
How much water?
How will I over winter them?
I'm zone 6a/5b.
Do I plant them in pots?
Make a pond like setting?I don't have the money for a pond.I do have an extra plastic kiddie pool.I could turn into a temp water garden.Are these bog plants or Gee wizz I need your expertise.
I've been wanting these for soooo long,finally broke down and ordered a mixed lot of 3 for 8.97 off of e-bay.To my surprise he has them marked with their names.They were cheap but look very healthy.I looked in plantfiles and not enough info.I would appreciate your help or send me to someone willing to put up with my dumb questions for a few days and maybe later on if I run into some kind of trouble.Or even a good ensata thread.Or even a good site.Thank so much,Jody

Moscow, TN(Zone 7a)

Jody, I am no expert but maybe I can help. This link will take you to Ensata Garden's page concerning cultural requirements of Japanese Iris.

http://www.ensata.com/HTML/GeneralPages/culture.htm

They are beautiful irises and yes you have probably officially started your JI addiction. Hope this has the information you need.

Palmyra, IL(Zone 5b)

Thanks shadowgirl,
I'll take a look see.
Jody

Willamette Valley, OR(Zone 8a)

Oh my, Jody! That's a lot of questions! lol I have had some Japanese iris for about 8 years now and those things just go and go. They don't seem to be too temperamental for me, but then I am in zone 8 and we get A LOT of rain. I have mine against my house and some against my fence. They get about half day of sun and they aren't planted very deep.....just barely covered with soil. I try to keep them very moist in the summer cuz that's when we actually dry out a little here. Other than that, I don't do anything special to them.....but I'm no expert either. lol

Good luck with them....I hope they do well for you!

Mendy

Palmyra, IL(Zone 5b)