More poppies!

Willoughby, OH(Zone 5a)

This is my first year for growing poppies and I LOVE them.Somniflorum,Shirley and various ones from the poppy co-op.Can I share? Nothing special,but still pretty

Thumbnail by golgi
Willoughby, OH(Zone 5a)

Some more..

Thumbnail by golgi
Willoughby, OH(Zone 5a)

pretty in pink

Thumbnail by golgi
Willoughby, OH(Zone 5a)

one more

Thumbnail by golgi
Marysville, WA(Zone 7a)

That 'Pretty in Pink" is a beauty too. I just found some today I hadn't seen before. Poppies are my favorites.

Thumbnail by balvenie
Castlegar, BC(Zone 6b)

This is my entry. So easy. Throw the seed on the ground in March and they produce such lovely flowers.

Thumbnail by OldFlowerGirl
Willoughby, OH(Zone 5a)

Oh My! They look like peonies! Lovely! I am definitely setting aside a BIG section of my garden for them next year.

Marysville, WA(Zone 7a)

OFG, they are beauties.An unusual magenta shade, very nice.

Chattaroy, WA

This is an annual poppy I grow every year. It is huge (6") and very full and heavy:

Thumbnail by LeeAnneH
Chattaroy, WA

I grow this poppy at the office - It stops traffic!

Thumbnail by LeeAnneH
Chattaroy, WA

Poppy - One More!

Thumbnail by LeeAnneH
Chicago, IL(Zone 6a)

Please tell me how you started your poppies. They're beautiful. This was my first year for poppies (from seed) and not one grew. I planted many. Possibly I waited to long to start them. Do they need cool weather to germinate? I didn't start them indoors either as I do most of my seedlings because I read theat they don't transplant well.

Marysville, WA(Zone 7a)

Don't know about weather conditions in Chicago area, but here in Western Washington I just strew them on the ground in a bare area and wait to see what happens. If they don't germinate this season they probably will next year. After that they re-seed themselves nicely, often too nicely.

Thumbnail by balvenie
Chattaroy, WA