What type of fruit have you grown in containers?

Dry Ridge, KY(Zone 6a)

I am looking for new ideas. I have some low bush blueberries in 5 gallon buckets, gooseberry in a 3 gallon bucket for now and have done strawberries in the past. What other types of fruit have you grown in containers and how did it do? Anything you would do different?

Kerry

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6b)

I've been growing Figs in Containers for a few years now.
They do extremely well done that way.
As you're just a river width away from us you shouldn't have any problem.lol

Us the biggest contain you can for them and try to stay w/ one of the hardier varieties.

We are doing 'Negronne' outdoors year round and 'Brown Turkey' which we winter indors.

We're using a 20 gallon for the outdoor and 10 for the BT.

Ric

Dry Ridge, KY(Zone 6a)

Ric,

Awesome. Have you had any fruit from your Negronne? Do you need both varieties for pollination? I don't have anywhere to put anything in the winter so it would have to stay outside. Is a 20gal about the same size as a half barrel?

Gresham, OR(Zone 8a)

Hi, kerry-in-ky!

I just have to recommend my favorite book regarding container gardening..."McGee & Stuckey's Bountiful Container: A Container Garden of Vegetables, Herbs, Fruits, and Edible Flowers." They have an extensive section with very explicit instructions on growing fruits in containers. They give excellent, specific instructional detail on growing apples (columnar, dwarf), blueberries, citrus, currants, figs, gooseberries, grapes, peaches, and strawberries in containers. The book is so full of useful information, it has become my favorite gardening book...even for non-container gardening!