Build my own composter barrel?

Orange, CA(Zone 10b)

I've posted this message in another thread and haven't had any response. So, I'm creating a new topic for it. Hopefully more people will see it this way.

I'm a beginner gardener and brand new to composting. I've found the instructions to build/make a compost bin out of a 32 gal. trash barrel (http://wiki.ehow.com/Build-a-Compost-Maker). I've also seen the "Tumbler" for $130. I can't really afford to pay that much right now. Should I try making one myself?

Welcome to DG Quyen. That's an interesting composter. I like that idea. I'm guessing you turn the barrel on the PVC pipe. I wonder if the stuff in the barrel will really mix or just slide down the side of the barrel. I wonder how you put more material in?

Spring Hill, FL(Zone 9a)

I have one of the manufactured barrel type composters here in zone 5 and frankly I don't think its worth a whole lot. I make far more compost in my twin large wire bins and don't have to crank the handle each day. The barrel idea looks like it would work OK though. one inch vent holes are probably too large because as the compost finishes it would work out through holes that large.

Dry Ridge, KY(Zone 6a)

This year I made two homemade composters. One is a large, hard plastic 55 gallon barrel that I spray painted black. The kind with the large opening at the top. I think it held pickled peppers. I cut 3/8" holes all over it, probably 30 or so. The other is a buried metal trash can. My intention was to roll the plastic barrel around the yard to mix the stuff up. WRONG. There is a reason clothes dryers have little fins inside. The stuff in the barrel just slides around the inside, no mixing going on. Eventually it will break down but I probably won't be able to use it till next summer.