Tomatoes in SE Michigan?

Macomb, MI(Zone 5b)

Hiya!

I'm in Macomb, MI, and have a question about tomatoes. I have a few different kinds growing: Sweet Baby Girl (cherry), Roma, Brandywine, Beefsteak, Black Russian, and Costoluto Genovese. All of the plants have flowers. Only the Sweet Baby Girls are setting fruit right now, all the others, although they have flowers, I see no fruit? Nada. The plants are a good size, about 2-1/2 feet tall, and sturdy. I haven't noticed any buggies/pests.

Any ideas?

Also... I'm new to Michigan, when should I expect tomatoes? In August? I came from zone 6B, and am now in zone 5.

thanks!

Karen

Melvindale, MI(Zone 5a)

Hi Karen,

I don't grow that many tomatoes but I do know that there are early, mid, and late varities. I have an Early Girl that has small tomatoes on it now, but my Better Boy doesn't. Mine are about the same size as yours. Hopefully you will be getting some on your vines shortly.

Cindy

Allen Park, MI(Zone 6a)

Karen
It all depends on the variety.
Check the seed packet for days to maturity.
They range from 60-90 days.
I try to plant a variety so that I'll have fruit all season.
Burpees 4th of July is a great early mater, 60 days.
Fruit is about the size of tennis balls and tastes great.
Brandywine= 90-100 days, Beefsteak and Russian Black=80 days

You have one of the foremost tomato experts there at the Macomb extension.
Hannah Stevens is a real nice lady and really knows her stuff.
If you have any questions about tomatoes give her a call.

Paul

This message was edited Jun 20, 2005 11:51 AM

Auburn Hills, MI(Zone 6a)

we have many plants with flowers and maters starting,, I think it depends on the kind you have !! I love maters , we make salsa our of some and can the rest, besides the fresh BLT's yummm

Allen Park, MI(Zone 6a)

My 4th of July plants have green maters the size of golf ball.

Paul

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)