Organic Fertilizer for Containers

Brooklyn, NY(Zone 6b)

This is my first year having a garden. About two weeks after I finished planting everything I found out I had to move. So now I am in the process of putting all my plants into containers and I'm wondering if there is an organic fertilizer I can buy that will be good for flowering plants and edible plants in containers. I used Plantone when I planted everything, mixing it into the soil, but I'm not sure what to do now. Can I just keep mixing it into the soil in the containers or would it be better to use a liquid fertilizer?

I live in an apartment in Brooklyn with a VERY small yard so getting bales of alfalfa or raiding the stable accross the way for manure is unfortunately not an option, and the garden stores and the Home Depots around here only seem to carry MiracleGro and Schultz. I'm guessing organic gardening is not a huge business in Brooklyn. I have a compost bin but it's not ready to use yet.

Thank you in advance for your help. This site has been an invaluable resource for a newbie like myself.

Fritch, TX(Zone 6b)

Hi NY, and welcome to DG!

A valuable resource would be an understatement for me!