Hardy geranium lovers?

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Just wondering if there are any hardy geranium lovers here? I am just beginning to collect/grow them and Psilo and Mark had made many posts last year that helped me learn about them but I don't see them posting lately...

I know geranaiceae are far more popular in the UK and europe than in the States, so I thought I would ask here if there is much interest... thanks. t.

p.s.-- a pic of my lonely, unidentified h. gerainium...any help on this? :-)

Thumbnail by tabasco
Swadlincote, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

I wonder if it could be a form of G. pratense, or 'Johnson's Blue', as it looks at lot like the one I have by that name. I love hardy geraniums and have recently bought quite a few on Ebay in the UK to add to the small number that I have found in local nurseries over the years. We have two acres of wild garden - in the sense that we have planted woodland, as well as being untidy :)- and they go so well with the cottage garden type of planting around the house, as well as coping with our poor sandy soil. I am just beginning to understand all the different species and varieties, and have bought a book by Peter Yeo 'Hardy Geraniums' which is a bit technical for me, but does go through all the different botanical descriptions.
Hope I've been some help :-)

Janice

thankyou Jaybear....I just borrowed Yeo's book from the library, so I expect it will give me lots of good information...

I think the geranium is either Brookside, Rozanne or Orion...those are the three I purchased last year, but several did not make it through the winter...and they lost their tags...must do something about that!

If you are interested in h. geraniums, there's a thread over in perennials with several other h.g. geranium (newish) collectors posting....

maybe there will be enough to resurrect the h. geranium thread...thanks again. t.

Bolton, Greater Manc, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)