Looking for fraises des bois

Haines Falls, NY(Zone 4b)

Hi. I'm really new at this. I really want some fraises des bois seeds. They are hard to find in the USA. I've lots of vegetable and herb seeds for trading.
Zelda

Palmyra, IL(Zone 5b)

Is it a strawberry?I can't find it in the plantfiles.Jody

Yes. Fragaria vesca. Same botanical name as alpine and wild strawberry, different taste.

Palmyra, IL(Zone 5b)

I have alpine I think that's what the trader said it was.Jody

I am interested. What do you want, and have you tasted the strawberries you have? Thank you Jody
Zelda

Palmyra, IL(Zone 5b)

They aren't ripe yet.Here's a couple photo's of them.They sure aren't regular strawberries.

Thumbnail by JodyC
Palmyra, IL(Zone 5b)

close-up of un-ripe berries

Thumbnail by JodyC
So.App.Mtns., United States(Zone 5b)

White Flower Farm has them as plants. http://www.whiteflowerfarm.com/29202-product.html

I have a few in my garden and they are delicious! They are still in pots (2 years now!) because I keep moving. Hope to settle down someplace soon, and they can go th the ground.

Palmyra, IL(Zone 5b)

Mine have runners but grow very slowly.I've had these in the front of my garden for two years now and just got runners this year.So what ever they are mine do get runners.Jody

Anyone who has them, I am still interested
Zelda

Helsinki, Finland(Zone 4b)

Must be the same thing that grows wild here all over... "ahomansikka" http://www.luontonetti.com/marjat/Photos/fragaria_vesca_20020702_08_jj.jpg

:) They are delicious..

They look sooooooooooooo good. Is there something I might trade with you for the seeds? Zelda

Would a small plant make it? Growing them from seeds could be.. hmm. frustrating.

Still interested...
Zelda

Zelda, just dag up some Strawberries for you from the forest next to us.. here they are waiting in a glass of water to be packed and sent tomorrow :)

Thumbnail by Evert

Packed...

Thumbnail by Evert