A question about a clematis?

Lilesville, NC(Zone 7b)

I have a question...I cut a piece of a clematis off of my mom's vine...it is a nice size vine...Will it root is if put it in water? or if i even put some rooting compound on it and plant it in dirt?

Thanks,

Char :o)

San Jose, CA(Zone 9a)

Char...I am new to clems and also have a cutting in water & was wondering the same thing...so I looked it up in my new clematis book...it says to put root hormone on the cutting and put in perlite with some bottom heat, cover with plastic and place in the shade and it should root in 6-8 weeks.

Good luck...

I was noticing that my cutting was actually getting new leaves and buds, just sitting in water. I am wondering if it would beable to root in water instead of putting into perlite. Anyone know?

Margie

Lilesville, NC(Zone 7b)

picturelady and everyone else that wants to know..I found these websites while looking around and it looks promising....

http://members.home.nl/jvanacquoij/prop.html

And found this question here: http://www.hort.purdue.edu/ext/ITG_sep00.html

Q. How do you propagate clematis? When is the best time to move older plants? Are they deep-rooted, and, if so, how far do you dig? What fertilizer do you use?
- Lois Holcomb, Hudson, Ind.

A. Clematis is best propagated by cuttings, which root in about five weeks. Young wood taken in late spring to late summer is most commonly used. Treating the cuttings with a rooting hormone, and misting the cuttings will aid the rooting process. The clematis you buy at a nursery are usually grafted onto a stronger rootstock, so your best bet is to grow purchased plants. However, you can get decent results from growing your own cuttings.

Transplant your clematis in the early spring or just after flowering. Dig down about 12 inches and try to maintain soil contact with the roots.