What size container for elephant ears?

Endicott, NY(Zone 5a)

I planted 2 elephant ear bulbs in containers, and I'm wondering if I should repot them. Last year none of the elephant ears that I planted sprouted so that's why I started in containers this year. They are the ordinary green elephant ears. Is there a "standard size" container for one elephant ear bulb/plant? I'm zone 4/5 so I would have to dig them up in the fall and would rather keep them in containers if possible.

Other than planting annuals, I'm new to container gardening.

Billie

Santa Barbara, CA

Seems to me a gallon-size container ought to be large enough and allow you to dig up pot and all for winter storage. I'd start them inside and transition them outside for a bit before putting in the ground.

Because they are such a big bulb, I just used the largest plastic that I had whether it had a crack in it or not... I staggered the bulbs. I managed to get packages for half the price of normal, so ended up with eight bulbs, for $ four. Two on bottom, rotate, two mid level. One pot did fine, one pot didn't reproduce or come up again this year. The first pot even made new bulbs.

I had to dink around with them this spring as the leaves were coming up in odd places in relationship to where I remember I planted the bulbs. Every thing seems to be doing great. I think that the plastic pots I used are better than 12 inch pots.

HTH
Cena

Port Huron, MI(Zone 5b)

I start mine in pots and then transfer them outside, but they sure do take a long time to germinate.mine took at least 8 weeks.
sandy

Toadsuck, TX(Zone 7a)

How big do Elephant Ears get in 1-2 yrs?

Noblesville, IN(Zone 5a)

I planted mine in a huge pot (17) inch. They also need plenty of water and some food once they start growing. Sun and water, water and sun. :)

Deep South Coastal, TX(Zone 10a)