Who are my new tenants???

Joseph, OR(Zone 5a)

You'll have to forgive me, as my camera has a poor macro and I can't snap a shot. I have hundreds of these tiny little bugs, they look like very small flies. This is my first year in gardening, so my terminology maybe off! They are crawling all over the mulch by my tomatoes. I don't seem to see any of the tomatoes themselves, but have seen plenty of the marigolds nearby. They have wings, but I never see them fly. Any ideas? I am going to look around for a picture too.....

Thanks,
J

Fritch, TX(Zone 6b)

Try this site.... they have lots of flies...

www.BugGuide.net

What color are they? Are you sure they aren't aphids? (ducking if necessary)

What predators are nearby, that could be a clue, if you know what is eating them... or what they are eating LOL...

Columbus, OH(Zone 5b)

J,
If they are mostly on your mulch, my guess is fungus gnats. They will fly when disturbed, but generally just crawl around. If you're organic try a mild vinegar and water spray on the soil.

Fritch, TX(Zone 6b)

Oh, now I didn't know that would work! Thanks dovey. Does that mean the gnats carry and spread fungus? If so, wouldn't a chamomile tea be good on the plants?

J be sure you don't spray that on the plants, K?

Columbus, OH(Zone 5b)

Tamera,
I don't know which comes first the chicken or the egg.
I assumed the gnats were drawn to the moist mulch because of fungus and that the vinegar distroyed the fungus they were after...
Maybe not, I never thought about it the other way around.
The problem kicks up every now and then on my house plants and the spray clears it right up.

Fritch, TX(Zone 6b)

Well, guess like the chicken, it doesn't matter who the cause or effect is, as long as the solution takes care of them both! I had always used the chamomile tea spray, but will try the vinegar next time. Hope it takes care of stvnickfans problem too!

Joseph, OR(Zone 5a)