Dirty dirt?

Prospect Park, PA(Zone 7a)

Hi! I have an area where we pulled down an old, decrepit metal garage the previous owners had. I know for a fact that nothing had been done in that garage for at least 30 years, but the floor is dirt, and I have no knowledge of what went on there 31plus years ago, although suspect they stored coal there and did basic auto and hobby work out there.

I am asking if I can confidentally plant veggies in that plot. In other words, would old spilled motor oil "go through" the roots and make the food bad?

I don't feel like I'm explaining this well, but you get my drift, right? As it is, I've just got some annuals there.

Circle Pines, MN(Zone 4b)

I don't think I would plant food in that dirt - not without getting it tested. The stuff they used 30 years ago is much more toxic than the stuff they use nowadays, and I just wouldn't take a chance. You could also ask places that do industrial cleanup what they think.

Josephine, Arlington, TX(Zone 8a)

Razzie, If they haven't done anything in there for 30 years I doubt that much harmful material could remain, if there was any to begin with.
However to be sure, a test would not hurt.
Also you could add as much organic matter as you can get a hold of, turn it all into the soil and let the composting process purify the soil.
I would let the soil lay fallow for at least a year so that the sun and the rain can do their work,
Keep adding organic matter and you will have a wonderful garden.
Sincerely, Josephine.

I should have mentioned...we removed the first foot of it and used it to grade around the foundation of the house. Thanks for your opinions!!
: )

(Zone 2b)

I would get the soil tested for hydrocarbons and heavy metals like lead before planting anything that is going to be used for food. Those sorts of things would remain in the soil for quite some time if they ever got into it. But there's no reason you can't try planting a flower bed there :-)

Everson, WA(Zone 8a)