Tree peony Alice Palmer

North East England, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

My plant has 3 flowers this year - it's superb!

Thumbnail by Galanthophile

The other 2 flowers are right next to each other

Thumbnail by Galanthophile
St. Thomas, ON(Zone 5b)

Hello Galanthophile this is my first year for my tree peonie as a matter of fact I thought I'd lost it. I bought it late last summer on sale and thought I'd give it a go and forgot to plant it right away and when I did it went into a slump or something so I thought I'd killed it but I didn't take it out of the ground and to my surprise it's very healthy looking and growing very well. How big do they get and did you have flowers the first year? Your flower is very pretty by the way.
Flowerpot (Linda)

This flowered as quite a small plant - I think I've had it 3 or 4 years. I also have a paler pink one that is a smaller plant and it has 1 flower coming. They'll grow into a sizeable shrub about 6 feet tall and as much wide. They are wonderful plants. Good luck with yours!

St. Thomas, ON(Zone 5b)

Thanks for the reply Galanthophile I think I may have to move my peony tree if they get that big, when should I transplant it and do they take kindly to being moved?
flowerpot

I think if you are going to move it I would do it when the plant is relatively small. If you take out as much of the rootball and surrounding soil as you can it should be ok as that will be as making as little disturbance as possible.

Baltimore, MD(Zone 7a)

What a gorgeous one! I'll have to get one. Yes Tree peonies do not like to be moved..but I have moved them and they just sulk for awhile but all survived and are doing well now. And I moved them in the spring after they had leafed out, which is a bad time but it was necessary.

St. Thomas, ON(Zone 5b)